Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In
Share |

Minnesota Association of County Auditors Treasurers and Finance Officers Constitution and Bylaws

Download a PDF of the bylaws

Article I Name

The name of the Association shall be the "Minnesota Association of County Auditors, Treasurers, and Finance Officers."

Article II Objectives

The Association is an organization that recognizes the responsibilities of the Minnesota Constitutional offices of Auditor and Treasurer and promotes the efficient and professional performance of their duties.  The Association also encourages legislation pertaining to the administration of these constitutional offices.  The Association shall be a member of the Minnesota Association of County Officers.

Article III Membership

Any duly elected or appointed County Treasurer, County Auditor, County Auditor/Treasurer, and County Finance Officer, who is also a member of the Minnesota Association of County Officers, may be a member of this Association.  Also any person who has been delegated the primary responsibilities for the duties of these offices may be a member.  Each Association member shall be entitled to one vote regarding any actions taken or elections held.

Article IV Meetings

The Annual Meeting of the Association shall be held in conjunction with the Minnesota Association of County Officers annual conference of each year.  Meetings other than the Annual Meeting, such as the summer meeting, may be called by a majority of Association members or by the Executive Committee.  Association business may be transacted at the Annual meeting or any meeting duly called.

The members of the Association shall be given at least a two week notice of each meeting, provide that a printed agenda of the meeting shall be deemed sufficient notice, sent either by first class mail or by electronic mail.

Article V Officers and Governing Body

The officers of the Minnesota Association of County Auditors, Treasures, and Finance Officers shall be:  President, Vice President, Second and Third Vice Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer. All offices except Secretary and Treasurer shall be elected at the Annual Meeting of the Association and shall immediate begin their duties in their respective office and shall hold office until their successor is elected. The nominating committee shall recommend the candidates for election and shall work to achieve a balance of Auditors, Treasurers, Auditor/Treasurers and Finance Officers among the offices to be filled.

All elections shall be by vote from the floor, unless the majority of members in attendance declare by vote that an election should be by ballot.

The offices of Secretary and of Treasurer shall be elected at the Annual Meeting of the Association and the persons elected to that position shall assume the duties on or before July I and shall serve until their successors are elected in accordance with this paragraph.

The Treasurer shall keep an accurate account of the financial affairs of the Association and shall present a report thereof at each regular meeting.  The Treasurer may also prepare an annual Association budget for approval by the membership. The fiscal year of the Association shall be the calendar year. The Secretary shall keep minutes of all meetings of the Association and of the Executive Committee and present them at each successive regular meeting.

The outgoing Secretary and Treasurer shall have completed and transferred all records and books to the newly elected Secretary and Treasurer by said date.

The Governing Body shall be known as the Executive Committee and shall consist of the officers. The immediate past president shall be an Ex Officio member.  The president shall preside at the Executive Committee meetings.

Article VI Election of Officers

The election of officers shall be held at the annual meeting.  Nominations for officers shall be made by a nominating committee appointed by the President, and shall consist of three (3) members.  The President shall be elected for a one (1) year term.  The Secretary and Treasurer may be elected for a maximum of three (3) consecutive one (1) year terms. However, in the event there are no other candidates for election to the offices of Secretary or Treasurer, the term limit may be waived by the membership on a year to year basis.  If a person should not be able to complete the term of office for which elected the Executive Committee shall appoint a member to fill the unexpired term.

The salary of the compensated officers shall be set at each annual meeting for the succeeding year.  No action constitutes agreement that the salaries remain at the level of the previous year.

Article VII Dues and Disbursements

The annual dues for each member shall be set at the annual meeting and shall be paid prior to the annual meeting or as soon thereafter as possible. Each active member shall pay such registration fees or assessments and dues as shall be determined at each annual meeting of the Association.

Disbursements of funds will be made by check only, which must be signed by the Treasurer.  No committee will be authorized to create financial liabilities unless approved both in nature and amount by the President and/or Treasurer. 

An annual review of all financial activities shall be conducted by the Audit Committee and reported to the membership at the annual meeting.

Article VIII Committees and Conferences

The President shall annually appoint all committees, committee members, and also the chairperson for the committees.  In addition to ad hoc committees, there will be the following standing committees: Legislative Committee, Audit Committee, Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Education Committee, Nominating Committee, License Committee, Elections Committee, Drainage Committee, MAGIC Committee, Finance and Accounting Committee, Tribal Affairs Committee, and Delinquent and Tax Forfeiture Committee.

The President and Vice President may attend the National Conference of County Officers during his or her year of service. The expenses shall be paid by the Association. Reimbursable expenses shall include registration, airfare/mileage, hotel, and meals within reason.

Article IX Education

This Association recommends and advocates that every member become a Certified County Officer acquiring forty-five (45) hours of continuing education credits on a cumulative basis, and maintaining the certification by accumulating ten (10) hours of CEU's each year thereafter in accordance with the standards set forth by the Minnesota County Officers Certification Program with a prescribed curriculum.

In addition, this organization advocates that every county treasurer become a "Certified County Treasurer" according to the standards currently set forth in the curriculum, as agreed upon by the Minnesota Department of Revenue and this Association, and that every Auditor and Auditor/Treasurer becomes appropriately certified according to standards set by appropriate State and Federal Departments and the Association.

The Association also recommends that every member county encourage their staff to become a "Certified County Professional" according to the provisions set forth above.

Article X Amendment

The Constitution and By-laws may be amended by a majority of those members present at any regular meeting of the Association involving all members or any special meeting of all members called for this purpose, with two week prior notice to all members.


Date Revised Constitution and By-laws Adopted: Date Adopted: January 12, 2006

Date Revised Constitution and By-laws Adopted: Date Adopted:  February 15, 2018

This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.